Curriculum & Special Education
 
 

 

District 7 offers a comprehensive curriculum designed to meet the needs of the individual student. The curriculum is a result of a research-based study by a K-12 committee of teachers, parents, and administrators into the best practices in instruction of the particular content area. The comprehensive core curriculum includes instruction in language arts, math, social science, and science.

In addition to the basic academic subjects, the elementary schools also offer specialist classes in art, vocal music, and physical education, as well as instrumental music and orchestra at the intermediate level. A regular program of gifted experiences is available for qualified students. Although each school has its unique features and special interests, the elementary curriculum is identical in all eight schools.

Advanced classes are available at both the middle school and high school levels. Students at Edwardsville High School may elect to take advanced placement exams. Qualifying high school students may also participate in a series of work experience situations under teacher supervision, as well as advanced vocational courses offered through the Collinsville Area Vocational Center.

In fall 2003, the historic N.O. Nelson Campus opened as a branch of Lewis & Clark Community College (LCCC). It has been renovated into a high-tech career education center that serves the residents of the Edwardsville-Glen Carbon areas. The state-of-the-art technology center serves Edwardsville High School students during the day, and LCCC students in the late afternoon and evening. Fine arts also play an important role in the curriculum. The district’s music program has won a number of prestigious awards for its band and orchestra. The drama program is frequently recognized at the all-state level with our students participating in the state drama productions.

A highly varied program of extracurricular activities also exists, particularly at the middle schools and high school. Our sports teams have done exceptionally well in recent years, with state-level appearances by many of the high school athletic teams.


 

Dr. Lynda Andre

Assistant Superintendent for
Curriculum & Instruction
Email: landre@ecusd7.org
Phone: 618-655-6021
Fax: 618-692-7423

Jeffrey Wallis, Coordinator of Special Education
Email: jwallis@ecusd7.org
Phone: 618-655-6025
Fax: 618-655-6035
   
Catherine Wright, Early Childhood

and Elementary Curriculum
Email: cwright@ecusd7.org
Phone: 618-655-6021

Adam Garrett, Coordinator of Special Education
Email: agarrett@ecusd7.org
Phone: 618-655-6051
Fax: 618-655-6035

   
Barb Johnson, Secretary

Email: bjohnson@ecusd7.org 
Phone: 618-655-6021

Cindy Steele, Coordinator of Special Education

Email: csteele@ecusd7.org 
Phone: 618-655-6038

   
Mary Leone, Secretary

Email: mleone@ecusd7.org
Phone: 618-655-6016
 

Heather Royer, Secretary

Email: hroyer@ecusd7.org
Phone: 618-655-6026

   
Stacey White, Secretary

Email: swhite@ecusd7.org 
Phone: 618-655-6024
 

 

   
   
   

 

Edwardsville School District #7 • 708 St. Louis St. • Edwardsville • IL • 62025 • (618) 656-1182
Last updated on: December 10, 2013 at 01:03 PM
 Copyright Edwardsville School District #7. All Rights Reserved.


Visitors since 11/14/05