Skip To Main Content

Scott Ahart Appointed to Board of Education

graphic for Board of Education Update

At a special board meeting on January 16, 2024, the Edwardsville Community Unit School District #7 Board of Education voted to appoint Mr. Scott Ahart to fill its vacant board seat. Mr. Ahart will assume the position previously held by Mr. John McDole, who resigned in November. Mr. Ahart will serve the remainder of Mr. McDole’s term, which expires in April 2025. 

Mr. Ahart, a 1985 graduate of Edwardsville High School, is a resident of Edwardsville and is a District #7 parent. He works at Phillips 66 where he has 22 years of hands-on experience in the oil industry, including nine years in management. Mr. Ahart also served in the U.S. Army.  

He was selected after the Board of Education interviewed applicants who wished to fill the vacancy. In compliance with Illinois School Code, the Board of Education accepted letters of interest from interested individuals noting they live in the Edwardsville Township along with a resume and any other relevant information.  

“The board thanks those who expressed interest in serving on the board,” said board president Mrs. Jill Bertels. “We look forward to the future contributions of Mr. Ahart, whose passion for the district will serve us well.”  

He will be sworn in at the regular board meeting on January 22, 2024, to begin his tenure on the board. 

  • All Schools